Rashi is the Player of the Month

Eric’s Mom, brother, Gregg, and future sister-in-law, Laura are in town for a few days. They were just in Romania this past week where Laura’s family is from, so it wasn’t too much of a hike to get to us. I think we’re driving up North with them tomorrow and we’ll hopefully find a place to stay overnight. I won’t get to my sizable load of Hebrew homework this weekend, but it’s a small price to pay for the chance to see the other side of the family, and I’ve been wishing that we could get out of Jerusalem for a little while now. It’s Gregg and Laura’s first time here, so it’s good for them to see some of the range of landscapes–physical and metaphysical–that make up this complicated place.

Meanwhile it’s Rashi’s month at Pardes. Apparently, Pardes will be featuring a super commentator of the month with the help of the Pardes Educators and Rashi is the first pick. It’s not surprising given that his commentary on the Torah and Gemara are still so popular after all of these years.

Pardes is honoring Rashi in a number of ways. Some of the students posted a brief timeline about Rashi in the lobby and some quotes from students about why they like Rashi. One teacher said that Rashi helps them get through the Daf (page of Gemara) and another said they liked how Rashi commentary was shorter than Ibn Ezra’s. Still another remarked upon Rashi’s strange understanding of the female reproductive system. But that’s not all. In addition to our regular diet of Rashi in Chumash class, we’re focusing on additional commentaries of his that particularly highlight his methodology and logic. We also read a long Rashi in Talmud class the other day.

Okay, so you might be asking yourself who is Rashi? And what are his methodologies. Since it’s late here in Jerusalem, I don’t think I can do justice to this topic right now, but I will address it next week. After all, I have to prepare a little presentation about him for my Chumash class so I might as well kill two birds with one stone, right?

I’ll post something after Shabbat, so stay tuned…

One response to “Rashi is the Player of the Month

  1. Hi Rebecca & Eric,
    I’m delighted with meeting the broader family today. I was listening to the music you took the effort burning the previous month, some of it I liked and some of it I didn’t feel was getting through but they are good interesting picks and I will be returning to them. Eric, don’t forget giving Gregg a username and password, or do you want me to do it?
    Hugs from Tivon – Anat & Etamar

Leave a Reply

