My oh my has the year flown by

Hello readers,

I’ve missed you so. I haven’t blogged because I’ve been fairly overwhelmed by the prospects and logistics of aliyah. We also just finished Pardes, parted with some good friends (more about that in another entry), and I’ve been wrapping up my volunteering (more about that too). With all of this stuff going on I just wasn’t getting the writer’s juice. Sometimes too much subject material makes it hard for me to write!

Part of the last few weeks I have been mentally preparing myself for the fact that I may not have a place to move to once I make aliyah.Job stuff is still up in the air, and that will greatly affect our final destination. It’s hard to find aptments when you don’t live in the country, unless you have a friend to look at the places for you (which we might resort to).

But you know what? I’m actually okay with the uncertainty. What would I do without yoga, Torah study and Jose Gonzales (thank you NPR all songs considered)? And of course Eric? Sure we get on each others nerves at times, but we wouldn’t have been able to pull this off without each other.

So now I am just trying to enjoy the ride and find storage for all of the books we acquired while at Pardes. 🙂

Speaking of books, the whole country has been celebrating Hebrew Book Week. What better way to celebrate the beginning of summer than a book fair throughout the country? One thing I like about this place is people aren’t ashamed to read and they go out of their way to promote it. And they produce LOTS of books here. Hebrew is active and well my friends.

We went to the fair in Jerusalem and the book stands went on forever. Not only bookstores and book publishers were represented but also universities and academic institutions. There were books of every kind from books on Rav Kook to cookbooks to Israeli fiction authors to books about the history of Hebrew.

Most of the books were in Hebrew (obviously) and many of them looked a bit more advanced than my skills. The fair was all the more encouragement for me to keep plugging away at my Hebrew, and I bought a book of Etgar Keret short stories to get me going. I also bought a Steinsaltz Talmud (masechet Hagigah) as a symbolic promise to myself to keep studying and an (English) book by a public policy professor looking at Moshe’s leadership abilities. That’s definitely up my alley.

Okay dokay. Off to do some more Hebrew studying. My final test is tomorrow night. I’m not to worried.

RZ

Leave a Reply

